Local Emergency Planning Commission

Local Emergency Planning Committees (LEPC's) were created in 1986 by Congress under the Emergency Planning and Community Right-To-Know Act (EPCRA), also known as SARA Title III.  The committee is made up of representatives from law enforcement, fire departments, EMS, emergency management, hospitals, transportation, media, community members, facilities with chemicals, and local officials.  The Emergency Management Office serves as the LEPC repository as it receives and maintains facility submissions, makes updates to the county-wide response plan, develops off-site response plans, responds to public requests for information under the "Community Right-to-Know" law, and organizes training and exercises. The LEPC meets at least once a year to discuss these topics.

Currently, Pepin County has 4 facilities that are required to have off-site plans on file with local responding agencies and the Emergency Management Office. Additionally, there are approximately 20 facilities that have chemicals on site above the reporting threshold set by the EPA which submit data in the form of TIER II Reports to the state and county government on an annual basis. If a facility within Pepin County utilizes chemicals, but isn't sure if the quantities stored on site are over the reporting threshold, they can look up the chemicals on the EPA's List of Lists.


LEPC Information: